Mr Shun Chi-Ming, SBS

    Mr Shun Chi-Ming


    Born in Hong Kong, with family roots in Shunde, Guangdong, Mr Shun Chi-ming graduated from St Paul's College, and from the University of Hong Kong in Bachelor of Science, with major in Physics. He joined the Hong Kong Observatory as Scientific Officer in 1986 and received professional training in nuclear radiation, meteorology and numerical weather prediction. Mr Shun specialized in aeronautical meteorology since the 1990s and introduced the most advanced doppler weather radar to detect windshear for the Hong Kong International Airport (HKIA) which opened in 1998.  In the 2000’s, Mr Shun led a team of researchers to develop the world-first LIght Detection And Ranging (LIDAR) Windshear Alerting System for the HKIA.  The system overcame the long-standing problem, faced by the world, of windshear detection under rain-free conditions, winning local awards and international recognition.   

    Mr Shun was promoted to Director of the Hong Kong Observatory in 2011.  He issued the highest tropical cyclone warning signal, the ""Hurricane Signal Number 10"" three times during his term.  Under the leadership of Mr Shun, the Observatory achieved very good results in the areas of public weather service, aviation weather service, public communication and public education, and won many local and international awards. Mr Shun retired in 2020.

    Mr Shun had taken up several international positions, including the Chairperson of the Meteorology Subgroup of the Asia/Pacific Region of the UN International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) (2003-2009), and the President of the Commission for Aeronautical Meteorology (CAeM) of the UN World Meteorological Organization (WMO) (2010-2018).  Mr Shun was the first Asian elected to take up this high position in WMO.

     

    SHARE

岑智明先生,銀紫荊星章

    Mr Shun Chi-Ming

    岑智明先生籍貫廣東順德,生於香港,畢業於香港聖保羅書院和香港大學,獲理學士,主修物理。1986年加入香港天文台為科學主任,先後接受核輻射、氣象學和數值天氣預報等專業訓練。自1990年代起,岑先生專精於航空氣象領域。他為1998年開幕的香港國際機場引入世界上最先進的多普勒天氣雷達,以探測風切變。岑先生於2000年代帶領一組研究團隊,為香港國際機場開發出全球第一套激光雷達風切變預警系統,克服了在無雨環境下探測風切變這個長久的世界性問題,獲得本地獎項及國際嘉許。

    岑先生於2011年晉升香港天文台台長,任內曾發出三個最高級別的熱帶氣旋警告信號「十號颶風信號」,有效減低傷亡。在岑先生的領導下,香港天文台在公眾天氣服務、航空天氣服務、公眾溝通及公眾教育等領域取得很好的成果,獲得多個本地及國際獎項。岑先生於2020年退休。​​

    岑先生曾擔任多項國際職務,包括聯合國國際民用航空組織 (ICAO) 亞太區航空氣象分組主席(2003-2009)及聯合國世界氣象組織 (WMO) 航空氣象學委員會 (CAeM) 主席(2010-2018)。岑先生是首位亞洲人獲選出任世界氣象組織這個高層位置。
     

     

    SHARE