Dr. William Leung Wing-cheung, SBS, JP

    55 Leung William - Photo - r.jpg

    After commencing his retirement in January 2020, Dr. William Leung ceased to be engaged in any formal employment but is still active in the public services. Before retirement, Dr. Leung has had a successful career of over 40 years. He has served Hang Seng Bank as Executive Director, Sun Hung Kai Financial as CEO, and WeLab Bank as CEO. He has also held key positions in major financial institutions in Hong Kong and Australia, including American Express, Standard Chartered Bank, Visa International and Mastercard International. 

    As an expert in payment and banking, Dr. Leung invented the e-cert based digital cheque in 2015 and is thus nicknamed “father of digital cheques”. He is most renowned for his abilities to solve problems with innovative ideas and to lead the future with strategic visions. An example of such is his invention of the “Hang Seng credit card cash dollars”, which is widely regarded as the most successful credit card loyalty program in Hong Kong. His reputation extends to his modus operandi, which includes his astute leadership and management skills, strong business ethics, and empathetic care for staff and customers alike.

    Born and raised in Hong Kong, Dr. Leung graduated from the Hong Kong Baptist College in 1978 and received a Diploma in English Language and Literature. Dr. Leung was elected Honorary Certified Financial Management Planner of the Hong Kong Institute of Bankers in 2006. 

    Dr. Leung serves a spectrum of community and public organizations. He is Chairman of Legal Aid Services Council, Chairman of Estate Agent Authority, Chairman of Hong Kong Creative Arts Centre, Emeritus Chairman of Hong Kong Dance Company, and Vice Chairman of Hong Kong Heart Foundation. Dr. Leung used to serve as Chairman of the Employees Retraining Board, as a member of Investor Education Advisory Committee, under the Security and Futures Commission, the Digital 21 Strategy Advisory Committee, and as an adviser of Our Hong Kong Foundation.

    Dr. Leung is a staunch supporter of the tertiary education sector. He was former Council Chairman of The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts. Earlier than that, he served as Treasurer of the Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU) Council and Court. In Vocational and professional education, Dr. Leung was a member of the Task Force on Promotion of Vocational education, and was previously a member of the Banking Industry Training Advisory Committee. He chaired the Committee on Management and Supervisory Training of the Vocational Training Council (VTC) from 2001 to 2008. In view of his distinguished services, HKBU conferred him Honorary University Fellowship in 2013 and again Distinguished Alumni Award in 2013/14. For the same reason, HKU Space conferred him Distinguished Alumni Fellowship in 2010 and VTC conferred him Honorary Fellowship in 2016. In October 2017, he was conferred Honorary Doctorate by the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and Honorary Fellowship by HKU Space.

    In recognition of Dr. Leung' s contributions to Hong Kong, the Government of the HKSAR appointed him Justice of the Peace in 2005  and honoured him with a Bronze Bauhinia Star and a Silver Bauhinia Star respectively in 2009 and 2016 respectively.

    SHARE

梁永祥博士 銀紫荊星章 太平紳士

    55 Leung William - Photo - r.jpg

    梁先生在2017年5月退休,雖然不再全職受聘於任何公司,但仍然活躍於本港的金融及財經界,現時仍在金融機構擔任獨立非執行董事之職梁先生擁有超過30年成功的金融管理事業,他曾經在香港及澳洲的主要金融機構如美國運通, 渣打銀行,威士國際組織,萬事達卡國際組織等機構擔任高職。 

    梁先生是一位支付系統及銀行業的專才,在2015年他倡議用電子證書作為保安工具的數碼支票,因此被冠以電子支票之父的美名。他擅長運用創新的意念来解決困難和用前瞻性的策略領導發展,恆生銀行的cash dollar信用卡積分計劃是一個被普遍認為非常成功的客戶忠誠計畫也是來自他的手筆。梁先生享譽於他的領導能力和管理才能,他亦有非常強的商業道德操守,對於顧客和同事都非常關顧。 

    梁先生在香港出生並受教育。 於1978年畢業於香港浸會學院英國語文及文學系。在2006年,梁先生被香港銀行學會頒授榮譽財富管財策略師名銜。 

    梁先生一向熱心公益,被委任多项的非政府機構職務,他現時是僱員再培訓局主席,地產代理監管局主席, 香港創意藝術中心主席,香港舞蹈團的榮休主席, 香港心臟基金會副主席,他是扶貧委員會轄下青年教育及就業培訓工作組的增補委员。梁先生亦曾服務於香港證券及期貨管理局的投資者教育諮詢委員會,香港數碼21諮詢委員會,及充任團結香港基金顧問。 

    梁先生對香港的大專教育支持不遺餘力,他是香港演藝學院的前任校董會主席, 在此之前亦是香港浸會大學校董會及諮議會司庫,他現時是香港大學專業進修學院基金委員會及其轄下投資及分配委員會的主席。在職業教育方面,梁先生是推廣職業教育工作組的委員,在此之前梁先生是香港銀行業培訓諮詢委員會委員,他在2001年到2008年擔任職業訓練局的管理及督導培訓委員會主席。由於梁先生對大專教育的貢獻,香港浸會大學於2013年頒授予榮譽大學院士銜, 並於2013 /14年頒授傑出校友銜 。基於同一理由香港大學專業進修學院亦於2010年頒授傑出校友院士銜,職業訓練局在2016年亦授予梁先生榮譽院士銜,在2017年10月 梁先生獲香港演藝學院頒授榮譽博士銜和成為香港大學專業進修學院的榮譽院士。 

    香港政府亦認同梁先生對社會的貢獻,2005年梁先生被委任為太平紳士並於2009年和2016年分別獲頒銅紫荊星章和銀紫荊星章。 
     

    SHARE