Ayesha Macpherson Lau JP



    Ayesha is a partner with KPMG China and the Managing Partner in Hong Kong.  She has been a specialist in the tax field for over 20 years, initially with KPMG in London before joining KPMG in Hong Kong.

    Professional and industry experience
    Ayesha has extensive experience advising multinational clients on tax matters.

    Ayesha is a regular speaker and writer on tax matters and is the co-author of “Hong Kong Taxation: Law and Practice” (Chinese University Press), a leading textbook on Hong Kong taxation.

    Ayesha is currently the Chairman of International Fiscal Association Hong Kong Branch and a member of the Joint Liaison Committee on Taxation.  She was the Chairperson of the HKICPA’s Taxation Faculty Executive Committee and its former Taxation Committee. 

    Ayesha is passionate about community service and has been appointed by the Hong Kong SAR Government as a member of various advisory bodies.  She is currently the Chairman of the Joint Committee on Student Finance and a Non-Executive Director of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority.  She is also a member of the Council of the University of Hong Kong, the Public Service Commission, the Legal Aid Services Council, the Financial Infrastructure Sub-Committee of the Exchange Fund Advisory Committee and the Policy Research Committee of the Financial Services Development Council.  She has served on the Women’s Commission, the Lump Sum Grant Independent Review Committee, the Taskforce on Economic Challenges, the Financial Reporting Review Panel of the Financial Reporting Council, the Hong Kong Trade Development Council, the Independent Commission Against Corruption Advisory Committee on Corruption, the Market Development Committee of the Financial Services Development Council, the Harbourfront Commission, the Aviation Development Advisory Committee and the Standing Committee on Judicial Salaries and Conditions of Service.

    Ayesha was appointed as a Justice of the Peace on 1 July 2013, an Accounting Advisor of the Ministry of Finance of the People’s Republic of China in May 2016 and a member of CPPCC of Jiangsu Province in Jan 2018.