Professor Yuk-Shan WONG, SBS, BBS, JP

    ​​黃玉山教授

    Professor Yuk-Shan Wong currently is the President of the Open University of Hong Kong.  Brought up and educated in Hong Kong, Professor Wong later obtained his PhD in Plant Biochemistry on Dean’s Honor List from McGill University of Canada in 1979. He was admitted as Fellow of Society of Biology in the United Kingdom in 2006 and Fellow of Hong Kong Institution of Science in 2009.

    Prior to joining the Open University of Hong Kong, Professor Wong has been involved in various teaching, research and administrative work at a number of universities. Professor Wong was conferred as a Medical Research Council Fellow of Canada at the University of Toronto in 1979. Upon his return to Hong Kong in 1980, he joined the Hong Kong Polytechnic University and subsequently in 1985, the Chinese University of Hong Kong until 1988. In 1990, Professor Wong became one of the founding faculty members of the newly established Hong Kong University of Science and Technology where he was actively involved in setting up the curriculum and designing the new laboratory facilities of the institution. At HKUST, Professor Wong had directed numerous active research programmes in environmental biotechnology and in 1997, he was promoted to Associate Vice-President for Research and Development. He was then appointed as Vice-President for Institutional Advancement and Chair Professor of Biological Sciences at the City University of Hong Kong in 1998. In 2006, Professor Wong rejoined the HKUST as the Vice-President for Administration and Business to oversee the financial, personnel and infrastructural development of the university. During this period of time, Professor Wong has played a leading role in the design and construction work of some 10 buildings both on and off-campus to facilitate the rapid development of HKUST. He was also the project leader of a large-scale Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) project which encompassed three major administrative information systems, namely student administration, finance and human resources.

    Professor Wong’s research interests lie mainly in the areas of environmental biotechnology, plant biochemistry and mangrove conservation/utilization. He has pioneered a long-term collaborative research program on mangrove ecosystems in Hong Kong, which was participated by some 20 leading scientists from the provinces of Guangdong and Fujian. Professor Wong also initiated the founding of the Futian-CityU Mangrove Research and Development Center in Shenzhen in 2003. 

    Professor Wong has published or co-authored over 170 international journal articles, 8 books, and has supervised over 20 post-doctoral fellows and graduate students. Professor Wong has been appointed honorary/guest professor in a number of universities in China, including Nanjing University, Xi’an Jiaotong University, Dr Sun Yat-Sen University, Xiamen University and Fujian Normal University. He was also a member of the Committee of Plant Molecular Biology of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and an advisor of the National Marine Open Laboratory at Xiamen University.  He was editor of three scientific journals.

    In addition to scientific research, Professor Wong has been heavily involved in the policy-making of basic education and the development of local higher education system over the years. He had served as the Chairman of the Curriculum Development Council and a member of the Education Commission between 2001-07. He was a member of the University Grants Committee between 2005-11 and a member of the Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications from 2003 to 2007. Professor Wong is also actively contributing to many other public services. He was the Chairman of Wetland Advisory Committee between1998-04, Deputy Chairman of Advisory Council on the Environment between 2001-08, and the Chairman of the Veterinary Surgeons Board of Hong Kong between 2010-13. Professor Wong served as the Chairman of the Consumer Council for 6 years (2013-2018).  

    Professor Wong is currently a Hong Kong Deputy for the National People’s Congress of China, the Chairman of the Standing Committee on Judicial Salaries and Conditions of Service, the Chairman of Steering Committee of Pilot Green Transport Fund and Member of Civil Service Training Advisory Board.  He also served as a member of the Hong Kong Basic Law Committee under the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress since 2008.  He also currently serves as the Chairman of the Society of Hong Kong Scholars and the Chairman of the Academic Committee of the Hong Kong Scholars Program.  

    He was also appointed Justice of the Peace (JP) and was awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star (BBS) and Silver Bauhinia Star (SBS)- in 2001, 2004 and 2018 respectively. 

    SHARE

黃玉山教授,銀紫荊星章,銅紫荊星章,太平紳士

    ​​黃玉山教授

    黃玉山教授現為香港公開大學校長。1979年,他以“院長榮譽”的優秀成績,取得加拿大麥基爾大學的植物生化學博士學位。並分別於2006年及2009年成為英國生物學會院士及香港科學會院士。

    多年來,黃教授在香港多所大學從事教學、研究及行政工作。1979年,黃教授在加拿大多倫多大學醫學院擔任研究員。其後返港任教於香港理工大學(1980-1985)及香港中文大學(1985-1988)。及至1990年,黃玉山教授加入當時新成立的香港科技大學成為創校教授之一。他積極為科大發展課程及設計實驗室設施,並在校內指導多項有關環境生物科技的研究項目。1997年,他晉升為協理副校長(研究及發展)。翌年,他又獲委任為香港城市大學副校長(大學拓展)及生物學講座教授。2006年,黃教授重返科技大學,並擔任行政副校長,專責規劃及管理全校人事、財務與校園基建。在這段時間內,黃教授曾領導校園內外十幢新大樓的設計及興建工作,以配合科大的最新發展。他同時在任內領導及完成了大規模的「企業資源計劃」(ERP),包括學生行政、財務及人力資源三大行政資訊服務系統。

    黃玉山教授專注的研究領域包括:環境生物科技、植物生化學及紅樹林保育/資源利用的研究。他與廣東及福建省二十位優秀科學家合作,對本港紅樹林生態系統進行了長期研究,成為該研究領域的先驅。他又於2003年在深圳牽頭成立了福田-城大紅樹林研究中心。黃教授曾於國際學術期刊發表超過170篇論文、撰寫8本著作,及擔任超過20名博士後研究員及研究生的指導教授。他同時獲多間大學委任為榮譽或客席教授,包括南京大學、西安交通大學、中山大學、廈門大學及福建師範大學。黃教授曾是中國科學院植物分子生物學委員會委員、廈門大學近海海洋環境科學國家重點實驗室的顧問,亦是三本科學學術期刊的編輯。

    除科學研究外,黃教授曾致力參與基礎教育的政策制定及本地高等教育制度的發展等工作。他曾任課程發展議會主席(2001-2007),及教育統籌委員會委員(2001-2007)、大學教育資助委員會委員(2005-2011)以及香港學術及職業資歷評審局委員(2003-2007)。其他公職包括:濕地諮詢委員會主席(1998-2004)、環境諮詢委員會副主席(2001-08)、香港獸醫管理局主席(2010-13)。黃教授曾擔任消費者委員會主席(2013-1018) 。黃教授為现任香港學者協會會長及「香江學者」計劃學術委員會主席。

    黃教授現時為港區全國人大代表及全國人大常委香港基本法委員會委員;並擔任香港特區政府司法人員薪俸及服務條件常務委員會主席,香港特區政府綠色運輸試驗基金主席及香港特區政府公務員培訓諮詢委員會委員。

    他於2001年獲委任為太平紳士,並於2004年獲頒授銅紫荊星章、2018年獲頒授銀紫荊星章。

    SHARE