Professor Anthony CHEUNG, GBS, JP

    ​​張炳良教授

    Professor Anthony B. L. Cheung is currently the Research Chair Professor of Public Administration at the Education University of Hong Kong (EdUHK) and Adjunct Professor at the Division of Public Policy of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.  

    From July 2012 to June 2017, Professor Cheung was Secretary for Transport and Housing of the Hong Kong SAR Government and, in that capacity, Chairman of the Hong Kong Housing Authority, Chairman of the Hong Kong Maritime and Port Board, Chairman of the Hong Kong Logistics Development Council as well as board member of the Hong Kong Airport Authority and Mass Transit Railway Corporation. 

    Professor Cheung graduated from The University of Hong Kong in 1974 with a BSocSc (Hon) degree in Sociology and Economics. He later obtained a MSc degree in Public Sector Management from the University of Aston, UK, and PhD degree in Government from the London School of Economics and Political Science, UK. He was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Science by Aston University in 2016 and an Honorary Doctorate of Education by EdUHK in 2017.

    Before joining academia, Professor Cheung had served in the civil service, working in various departments including the ICAC. In 1986, he joined the City University of Hong Kong, where he subsequently became Professor and Head of the Department of Public and Social Administration. From 2008 to 2012, he was the President of the Hong Kong Institute of Education (now EdUHK) and laid the foundation for the Institute’s subsequent retitling as university under an ‘Education-plus’ vision. He co-founded the Asian Association of Public Administration in 2010 and had been its president.

    Professor Cheung’s research has focused on governance, public administration and public policy, producing over 100 refereed journal articles and book chapters, and over 10 authored/edited books, as well as numerous conference papers. 

    Professor Cheung was active in public affairs. During 1995-97, he was Member of the Legislative Council. He was chairman of the political group Meeting Point (1989-94) and a founding vice-chairman of the Democratic Party (1994-98). He also founded an independent think-tank SynergyNet in 2002. 

    Over the years, Professor Cheung has served in various major public service positions including: Non-Official Member of the Executive Council (2005-2012); Chairman of the Hong Kong Consumer Council (2007-2012); Chairman of the Pay Trend Survey Committee (2007); Board member of Hong Kong Mortgage Corporation (2007-17); Member of the Consultative Committee on the New Airport and Related Projects (1991-98); Member of the Task Force on Review of Civil Service Salaries and Conditions (2002); and Member of the ICAC Operations Review Committee (2005-07). 

    Since stepping down from ministerial office, Professor Cheung he has been appointed since November 2017 as Chairman of the Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education, and Member of the Education Commission and University Grants Committee. He chaired a government task force to review self-financing post-secondary education in 2017-18. He is also an adviser to the Steering Committee of the Hong Kong International Aviation Academy.

    SHARE

張炳良教授,金紫荊星章,太平紳士

    ​​張炳良教授

    張炳良教授現任香港教育大學公共行政學研究講座教授,及香港科技大學公共政䇿學部兼任教授。

    張教授在2012年7月至2017年6月期間,擔任香港特區運輸及房屋局局長,並兼任香港房屋委員會主席、香港海運港口局主席、香港物流發展局主席、香港機場管理局董事、香港鐵路有限公司董事。

    張教授1974年畢業於香港大學,主修社會學及經濟學。其後於英國阿斯頓大學取得公共管理科學碩士學位,及於倫敦經濟及政治學院取得政府研究哲學博士學位。2016年獲英國阿斯頓大學頒授榮譽科學博士學位,2017年獲香港教育大學頒授榮譽教育博士學位。

    張教授投身學術界之前,曾任職公務員十多年,在不同政府機關包括廉政公署工作。1986年進入香港城市大學,後升為教授及曾擔任公共及社會行政學糸主任。2008至2012年出任香港教育學院(今香港教育大學)校長,致力「正名」大學,提出「超越教育」(Education-plus) 使命。2010年共同創辦亞洲公共行政學會,並曾任會長。

    張教授專研管治、公共行政及公共政策,著作超過100篇國際學術期刊文章和書章、10多本專書,以及無數學術研討會論文。

    張教授長期積極參與公共事務,1995-97年擔任立法局議員,並曾任政治團體「匯點」主席(1989-94) 及香港民主黨創黨副主席(1994-98)。2002年創立民間智庫「新力量網絡」。

    多年來張教授出任不同重要政府公職,包括:行政會議非官守成員(2005-12)、香港消費者委員會主席(2007-12)、薪酬趨勢調查委員會主席(2007)、香港房屋委員會資助房屋小組主席 (2007-12)、香港按揭証券有限公司董事(2007-12)、新機場諮詢委員會委員(1991-98)、公務員薪酬及服務條件檢討專責小組成員(2002)、及廉政公署審查貪污舉報諮詢委員會委員(2005-07)等。

    張教授離開局長崗位後,於2017年11月獲政府委任為自資專上教育委員會主席、及教育統籌委員會和大學教育資助委員會委員,並主持政府一專責小組(2017-18),檢討香港自資專上教育。他亦是香港國際航空學院督導委員會顧問委員(2018年起)。

    SHARE