Dr. Wilfred WONG, GBS, JP

    Wilfred Wong

    Dr. Wilfred Wong Ying-wai is the President & Executive Director of Sands China Limited, listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange. Sands China Limited is an integrated resort developer and operator in Macau and a subsidiary of Las Vegas Sands Corp. Dr. Wong is also an Independent Non-Executive Director of Xinyi Glass Holdings Limited which is also listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange. 
      
    Dr. Wong joined the Administrative Officer grade of the Hong Kong Government in 1975 and served in a number of key positions including Deputy Secretary for the Civil Service and Deputy Director General of Industry. Dr. Wong joined the private sector in 1992 and since then, he has held top management positions in a number of Hong Kong listed companies in the property development and construction business sectors including K. Wah International Holdings Limited, Henderson China Holdings Limited, Shui On Group and Hsin Chong Construction Group Limited. 
      
    Dr. Wong started his political career at the national level when he was appointed a member of The Basic Law Consultative Committee (1985-1990) by the Central People’s Government. He was subsequently appointed by the National People’s Congress as a member of the Preliminary Working Committee for the Hong Kong SAR Preparatory Committee in 1993 and a member of the Hong Kong SAR Preparatory Committee in 1995, both bodies were responsible for the transitional policies and arrangements relating to the establishment of the Hong Kong SAR Government in 1997. Dr. Wong was elected as Deputy to the National People’s Congress of the PRC during 1997-2013. 

    Dr. Wong’s public service continues through his participation in numerous important councils and committees in Hong Kong over the last 30 years. He is currently the Chairman of Hong Kong Film Development Council; Chairman of Hong Kong Arts Development Council; Chairman of Asian Film Awards Academy; Chairman of Hong Kong International Film Festival Society; Chairman of Hong Kong Institute for Public Administration; Chairman Emeritus of Hong Kong Baptist University Foundation; Chairman Emeritus of the Pacific Basin Economic Council; and Committee Member of the 9th National Congress of China Federation of Literary and Art Circles.

    For his distinguished public service, Dr. Wong was awarded the Gold Bauhinia Star and Silver Bauhinia Star Medals by the Hong Kong SAR Government in 2015 and 2007 respectively. He was conferred the degree of Doctor of Humanities honoris causa from Hong Kong Baptist University in November 2013, recognizing his outstanding professional and political achievements as well as chairmanship of Hong Kong Baptist University Council (2007-2012). He was educated at Harvard University (MPA), The University of Oxford, The University of Hong Kong (BSoc.Sc.) and The Chinese University of Hong Kong. 

    SHARE

王英偉博士,金紫荊星章,太平紳士

    Wilfred Wong

    王英偉博士現任聯交所上市公司金沙中國有限公司的總裁兼執行董事。金沙中國有限公司是澳門最大規模的綜合度假村及娛樂場發展商及營運商,並為拉斯維加斯金沙集團股份有限公司之附屬公司。彼為另一聯交所上市公司信義玻璃控股有限公司的獨立非執行董事。

    王博士於1975年加入香港政府政務官行列,並曾出任多個主要職位,包括副公務員事務司及工業署副署長。王博士於1992年加入私營公司,其後,彼於多家從事物業發展及建造業務之香港上市公司擔任高級管理職位,包括嘉華國際集團有限公司、恒基中國集團有限公司,瑞安集團及新昌營造集團有限公司。

    王博士於1985年至1990年獲中央人民政府委任為基本法諮詢委員會委員,展開其服務祖國之政治職務。彼於1993年獲中華人民共和國全國人民代表大會(「全國人大」)委任為香港特別行政區(「香港特區」)籌備委員會預備工作委員會之委員及於1995年委任為香港特區籌備委員會委員,兩個委員會均負責有關於1997年成立香港特區政府之過渡政策及安排。1997年至2013年期間,王博士為全國人大港區代表。

    在過去的30年,王博士在香港參與許多重要的理事會及委員會,並一直致力於公共服務。彼現為香港電影發展局主席、香港藝術發展局主席、亞洲電影大獎學院主席、香港國際電影節協會主席、香港公共行政學院主席、香港浸會大學基金的榮譽主席、太平洋地區經濟理事會榮譽主席及第九屆中國文學藝術界聯合會全國委員。

    為表揚彼之傑出公職服務,王博士分別於2015年及2007年獲香港特區政府頒授金紫荊星章及銀紫荊星章。王博士於2013年11月獲香港浸會大學頒授榮譽人文學博士學位,表彰彼之出色專業和政治成就以及擔任香港浸會大學校董會主席(2007-2012)。彼曾在美國哈佛大學(公共行政碩士學位)、英國牛津大學、香港大學(社會科學學士學位)及香港中文大學接受教育。

    SHARE