Mr. Douglas SO, BBS, JP

    Douglas

     

    Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak BBS JP is a solicitor of Hong Kong. After obtaining his law degree from The University of Hong Kong (HKU), Mr So specialised in commercial law at Baker McKenzie, a leading international law firm. He advised the successful IPO of China Eastern Airlines in 1997 and PetroChina in 2000, amongst others, on the stock exchanges of Hong Kong and New York.

    Mr So later became General Counsel and Executive Director, Charities of The Hong Kong Jockey Club, where he served for nearly 15 years. Subsequently, Mr So was appointed Vice-President of HKU, his Alma Mater, in charge of institutional advancement.

    In 2014, Mr So founded F11 Foto Museum (www.f11.com) inside a 1930s art-deco style building in Happy Valley to promote photography, heritage conservation and private museums. Thereafter, he established f22 foto space (www.f22.com), an award-winning gallery in Wanchai, with a focus on photo art and creative design.  In 2019, he opened Hong Kong's first Leica flagship store in Causeway Bay as a joint venture with the renowned German camera manufacturer. A year later, f22 added a fine vintage camera shop and a gallery to the Peninsula Hotel in Kowloon, a charming Grade 1 heritage building.

    Mr So is devoted to serving the community. Currently, he is the Chairman of the following:

    1. Antiquities Advisory Board;
    2. Advisory Committee on Chinese Medicine Development Fund;
    3. Museum Advisory Committee; 
    4. M Plus Collections Trust;
    5. Hong Kong Jockey Club Music and Dance Fund; and
    6. Human Resources Committee and Development Committee of The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (HKAPA), cum Deputy Chairman of the HKAPA Council.

    Mr So also serves on the Advisory Committee on Built Heritage Conservation. In addition, he is a board member of HKBU Chinese Medicine Hospital and Food Angel, as well as an adviser to Our Hong Kong Foundation; Dashun Foundation and Hong Kong Architecture Centre. Furthermore, Mr So is a Member of the 6th Election Committee. 

    A former board member of the Community Chest; HK Phil; Prince Philip Dental Hospital; Duchess of Kent Children's Hospital and HK Cyberport, Mr So also served as Secretary of UNICEF HK and Chairman of its Corporate Governance Committee for almost a decade. Moreover, he was a member of the HKU Foundation Disbursement Committee and the Community Care Fund Welfare Committee.

    Over the years, Mr So has delightfully contributed his time and expertise serving as juror for a number of professional competitions, including those organised by HK Institute of Architects; HK Institute of Surveyors; Chartered Institute of Building; and the Leica Oskar Barnack Award in Germany. In 2021, he served as Head Juror of the Design Competition 1 + 1 for the expansion of HK Science Museum and HK Museum of History. 

    Mr So is a frequent speaker and moderator at conferences, such as talks hosted by the National Cultural Heritage Administration of China; HK Rotary Club; HKU Museum; French Consulate of HK & Macau; Fine Art Asia; HK Museum Summit; Our HK Foundation; HK Photobook Festival; Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors; Digital Art Fair and Construction Industry Council. He has also given dozens of media interviews on a wide range of topics of public interest.

    In recognition of his excellent public service and contributions to arts, culture and heritage conservation, Mr So was appointed a Justice of the Peace and awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star by the Hong Kong SAR Government, as well as the honour of Chevalier dans l'ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French Government.

    In 2021, Mr So appeared on the Asia's Most Influential List of HK Tatler. He was also one of Gafencu's Power 300 in both 2020 and 2021. 

    SHARE

蘇彰德先生,銅紫荊星章,太平紳士

    Douglas

     

    蘇彰德先生 BBS JP 是一位香港律師。他從香港大學考取法律學位後加入了貝克麥堅時國際律師事務所,專責商業法律。他曾為中國東方航空公司和中國石油等公司提供法律諮詢,並協助兩間公司分別於1997年和2000年在香港和紐約證券交易所成功上市。 

    蘇先生後來出任香港賽馬會慈善事務執行總監兼首席法律顧問,任職近十五年。隨後被任命為其母校香港大學副校長,負責大學拓展工作。

    2014年,蘇先生在跑馬地一幢建自1930年代的裝飾藝術風格建築創立了F11攝影博物館(www.f11.com),致力推廣攝影、文物保育及私人博物館。及後,他再於灣仔建立了f22攝影空間(www.f22.com), 推廣攝影藝術及創新設計意念,並獲得多項設計奬。2019年,他與著名的德國相機製造商合資在銅鑼灣開立首間香港徠卡旗艦店。一年後,f22 更在一級歷史建築的半島酒店裏增設了一家古董相機店和攝影藝廊。

    與此同時,蘇先生亦熱心服務社會。現時為以下委員會之主席:

    a.    古物諮詢委員會
    b.    中醫藥發展基金諮詢委員會
    c.    博物館諮詢委員會
    d.    M Plus Collections Trust
    e.    香港賽馬會音樂及舞蹈信託基金受託人委員會
    f.     香港演藝學院人力資源委員會和拓展委員會,暨校董會副主席

    他亦服務於保育歷史建築諮詢委員會、浸大中醫醫院、惜食堂董事局。他也是團結香港基金、大舜基金和香港建築中心的顧問,並且是第六屆選舉委員會委員。

    他曾任於香港公益金董事局、香港管弦樂團董事局、菲臘牙科醫院管理局、大口環根德公爵夫人兒童醫院管治委員會、香港數碼港管理公司董事局 、並曾為聯合國兒童基金香港委員會秘書及管治委員會主席接近十年。除此之外,他亦曾服務於香港大學基金撥款委員會和關愛基金福利小組委員會。

    多年來,蘇先生樂於擔任多個專業比賽的評審,當中包括由香港建築師學會、香港測量師學會、英國特許建造學會(香港),以及德國的徠卡奧斯卡巴納克攝影獎舉辦的比賽。 2021年中,他更擔任香港科學館和香港歷史博物館擴建工程1+1設計比賽的首席評判。

    不僅如此,蘇先生亦經常參與演講和主持講座,當中包括由中國國家文物局、香港扶輪社、香港大學美術博物館、典亞藝博、香港博物館高峰論壇、團結香港基金、香港攝影書節、皇家特許測量師學會、Digital Art Fair和建造業議會舉辦的不同活動,與公眾分享及交流。他亦有就公眾關心的議題經常接受傳媒採訪。

    為表揚蘇先生傑出的公共服務及對藝術、文化和文物保育的貢獻,他曾分別獲香港特區政府頒授銅紫荊星章及委任為太平紳士,以及法國政府頒授藝術與文學騎士勳章。

    於2021年,蘇先生登上了Tatler Asia 最具影響力人物排行榜,並且連續在2020及2021年獲高峰傲雜誌選為香港300位最有影響力人士之一。
     

    SHARE